top of page

The Thanos Movie We've All Been Waiting For - Avengers: Infinity War *Non Spoiler Review*


Avengers Infinity War Poster

If you have been waiting for Thanos to appear in his own movie, this is it. The Russo brothers (Anthony and Joe Russo) has been teased us for months saying this will essentially be a Thanos movie; and upon my first of many viewings; HELL YEAH IT IS.


Don't worry, this review has NO SPOILER, I'll just mainly share my opinions on the movie because #thanosdemandsyoursilence.


Lets start with the criticism. This movie is REALLY HEAVY. In that sense I mean; there's a lot of things happening concurrently. Now that might seem like a bad thing to some considering there's like 'one thousand and seventy-three' characters in here. Sometimes you may feel a little fatigue in between scenes. There's scenes involving on these characters in these location but then there's not one but three other set of characters happening on other locations. All at the same time! Considering there's so many characters, I feel like the Russo brothers slip up a little bit on the tempo of the first act of the movie.


Now that's out of the way; can I just say;- this movie is freaking awesome!!


That mother freakin' Thanos. There's words rumbling among the world wide web that he is the best villain in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). I give you one better. Thanos is the best villain in the history of comic book movies. Yes, he is definitely up there with Heath Ledger's Joker. How's that?! Now - there's many of you that might not agree with me but guess who's in charge here? You see where I'm going with this? ;)


Thanos is written brilliantly by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely; that makes him having this amazing character depth :- although you would not agree with his process; you will eventually understand WHY he's doing what he's doing. Like I said many times before, a good villain is a villain that believes he/she is in the right. And Thanos delivers that. To add to that, Josh Brolin gives an outstanding performance as Thanos that makes Steppenwolf looks like a puppy in comparison. I'm not kidding guys, I have legitimate goosebumps when I first saw Thanos in the movie. And kudos to the VFX crew for bringing this character to life. In certain closeups, you can literally see every line of Thanos's scars and hair strands. Yes, hair strands! He's not entirely bald guys!! Who would've thought?!


Lets get to the Avengers. The Russo brothers did an amazing job juggling in between this amount of characters that every Avenger has his or her own moments to shine. Sure it does feel like one or two characters were underused but I would say that is tolerable enough considering the limelight that the other characters received are worth cutting their time out.


Among the Avengers, I would say that Thor and Gamora has the best character arc in this movie. Not really a surprise for Thor considering at the end of Thor Ragnarok;

(SPOILERS FOR THOR RAGNAROK) - the whole Asgard population (or what's left of them anyway) did stumbled upon Thanos's ship the Sanctuary II. Though I was pleasantly surprise for Gamora's role in this movie although come to think of it, it would be a no brainer she would play an important role since she is Thanos's daughter after all.


For those who have not seen the movie yet; treat yourself to a movie that has good pure entertainment values with a lot of emotional depth. This is definitely a closing chapter of the Marvel Cinematic Universe phase that is worthy of an inclusion among the best MCU movies. I am not even over selling it if I say this is an EVENT you do not want to miss out. I kid you not, I left the theater shell shocked.


For the life of me, I cannot believe what I just saw.


-mrM

p/s : PLEASE stay till the end guys. Come on, this is not amateur hour; it's the 19th MCU movie for heaven's sake.



Popular Stories
Recent Stories
bottom of page